Entrepreneurial Power-tool: Reading

Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon HillAs a hustler-entrepreneur, I spend a lot of time reading. A LOT a lot. The beauty of entrepreneuring is that it’s a self-education. (Note: If you’re not a generally curious person, that sucks.) Reading has not only been an inescapable resource for getting my life together (getting my life together is still happening, p.s.), it’s been a godsend for my sanity. I guess that means reading is a life power-tool. I’m currently reading Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill [1] and Super Rich by Russell Simmons. These success stories/biographies/self-help books have been invaluable in not only my journey to sustainable unemployment, but also in my life outlook. That’s also the beauty of being unemployed: introspection is unavoidable. Some people, especially extroverts, might find self-reflection scary or tiresome or miserable. But for me, being constructively critical of myself is the only road to knowing what I want to do with my life and why.

Fortunately, when I’m having one of those days where I just don’t want to stick my nose in a book, all is not lost. More limited, perhaps, but not lost. There are plenty of ways to get inspired outside of text and pages that are also important. The first is video. I highly recommend TED videos; they’re ultra-inspiring. There’s an old TED documentary streaming on Netflix. It taught me not to wait for the capital to make my ideas a reality. The second is meeting people. As I said in my post from Marie Forleo, you can’t do it alone. Meeting people who are doing things similar to me is a survival skill at the very least. Even meeting people who are inspiring and doing great things in general, and surrounding myself with these people, will go a long way on my road to success (or maintaining it).

But honestly, sometimes a good book can’t be beat. Next stop, Thich Nhat Hanh [2].

1: Napoleon Hill (October 26, 1883 – November 8, 1970) was an American author who was one of the earliest producers of the modern genre of personal-success literature. He is widely considered to be one of the great writers on success. His most famous work, Think and Grow Rich, is one of the best-selling books of all time (at the time of Hill’s death in 1970,Think and Grow Rich had sold 20 million copies).
 
2: Thich Nhat Hanh (October 11, 1926- ) is a Vietnamese Buddhist monk. During the war in Vietnam, he worked tirelessly for reconciliation between North and South Vietnam. His lifelong efforts to generate peace moved Martin Luther King, Jr. to nominate him for the Nobel Peace Prize in 1967. He lives in exile in a small community in France where he teaches, writes, gardens, and works to help refugees worldwide. He has conducted many mindfulness retreats in Europe and North America helping veterans, children, environmentalists, psychotherapists, artists and many thousands of individuals seeking peace in their hearts, and in their world.
Leave a Reply

