The Hustler-Entrepreneur

A Million Ideas NotebookMy name is Lydia. I grew up in the southern reaches of Louisiana in Creole country, left for college to get a non-lucrative humanities degree that few know exists, and have yet to return Louisiana (as a resident) but have managed to resettle in Atlanta (a “southern” oasis of liberalism). I am both a hustler and an entrepreneur. (There is no difference between the two—except, perhaps, a hustler has a much greater sense of urgency.) I have ideas upon ideas upon ideas upon ideas, and of course, I’m unemployed. I’ve accepted that I’m not going to be one of those people with a decent/cushy paying job who has this off-beat hobby that explodes into a career and completes my life. I have no job, and my life is already complete. I rarely have more than $50 in my bank account at any given time, and I keep getting rejected for food stamps. Yet, what I lack in money, I make up for in resourcefulness and agency. I mean, I hope…

I’m determined to not be that young person with a million great ideas who never realizes a single one. In fact, most young people go through that phase of a million and one ideas. We often do it with friends… and we rarely get past the brainstorming. Then, nothing happens, or someone quits. Not to say friends are bad to go into business with as a rule. It’s just there is a crucial difference between a friend and a business partner. And finding someone who’s both, and as committed, isn’t easy. Or common. Just think back to that time when you were excited to live with a friend, and then soon found yourself asking, “What the hell was I thinking?!” Sometimes a friend is best left as just that, a friend. And as we’ve all heard, quitters never prosper. If I don’t love what I’m doing, I will most certainly quit. Becoming my own boss is a buzz-kill of a journey with a deep, confusing valley after every mountaintop. I’m not going to tell you how many times I’ve cried alone in my room ready to give up. It’s either all in or all out. I’m all in.

Like a true hustler-entrepreneur, I am flying by the seat of my pants. Sometimes I job hunt; sometimes I give job hunting the middle finger. I’m not overly concerned. A job would be nice, but it comes with some risks. Jobs these days aren’t secure, it’s hard to find one that will pay enough to adequately support myself, and there’s that whole settling thing. Either I’ll get a job so I can save money—ultimately settling for the ease and comfort of a guaranteed, risk-free paycheck—or I’ll hustle and the money won’t come in the amounts I need it. There’s also the idea of getting a job and hustling on the side. But like governments, that looks much better in writing than in practice. I’m convinced chasing money never brought anyone personal growth. A woman can’t thrive on money alone. For the masses, in this economy, chasing dreams is a much more viable option. Dreams can feasibly turn into skills that no one else has (quite like you). Especially dreams that solve problems. Dreams bring drive. Advice of the day: it’s not about the resources you already have; it’s about your resourcefulness.

In short, my career path, like life, is pure trial and error. There’s no right and wrong in paving my own path, just lessons learned. I’m unemployed and broke. I hustle/entrepreneur for a “living.” This is my journal of successes, failures, inspirations, advice, thoughts and found resources. I hope my journey can help you on yours. If not, I’d at least appreciate the company.

Comments
2 Responses to “The Hustler-Entrepreneur”
  1. David says:

    Hi Lydia, I just came across your blog and wanted to let you know that I can appreciate your hustle. Keep doing what you’re doing, hustlin!

Leave a comment