Biz Profile: jellybeanbikes

jellybeanbikesOne of my dreams is to become a bike mechanic. I still intend to become one. It’s all part of my grand plan to join a women’s bike collective and be a sexy grease monkey (ya know, except fixies instead of cars). I have no idea where to find said collective or if it exists, but I’ll assemble one myself if I have to!

But seriously, I’m an urban cyclist (It’s official. I even have a Chrome bag). It all started with my big brother working for a bike shop in our hometown of Lafayette, LA. If there’s one thing about my brother, he can sell you anything. And I mean anything. During his time there, I was woo-ed by the classic, dreamy single speeds on display. He let me ride one around one day; the rest was history. When he finally left his job there, his boss was generous enough to give me Candace, a kiwigreen Globe Roll 1. Me and Candace have been inseparable ever since.

At the risk of sounding like a snob (I promise I’m not trying to be), cycling is the most intimate way to navigate a city. Public transportation sort of connects me to people in an unspoken way that gives me an overwhelming sense of citizenship. Cycling connects me to the urban landscape. Here, read this great article about it. No lie, riding around near downtown Atlanta at sunset is downright romantic. And so, when perusing through Monocle, it was pure excitement that pulsed through my veins when I discovered jellybeanbikes. (Note: I’m easily excitable. I don’t care if it’s uncool.)

Jellybeanbikes is a bespoke Australian based company that makes affordable and customizable(!) single speeds. Check out a brief video about them here (it starts at the 2:20 mark and ends at 3:25). It all started from the need for an affordable single speed. Now, that’s problem solving!

Candace

Candace!

Leave a Reply

