Starting Now: Step 1 to Making Your Ideas a Reality

Job Market: Be back in 2011 (maybe) I believed for a long time that to start a business, I first had to save up money. Then, with that capital I saved, I could put it toward growing a business. Capital is definitely necessary at some points, but doing one thing so that I could do another isn’t exactly efficient or the only option. 

I’ve talked before about pinpointing resources and using those to effectively DO. Because I can’t find a job, making the most out of what I have and acquiring resources is more necessary for getting started than money. However, there are times when I have to go out and find resources. 

When I first moved to Atlanta around 10 months ago, the only job I was able to get was a very part-time position at a seasonal Toys R Us Express store. Once the holidays were over, the store was closed and I found myself back at square one. To this day, I haven’t been able to find a second paid job (I’d been teaching myself Web design in the meantime). Luckily, I was able to move deeper into the city and my first instinct was to meet people and build my resume up through an internship (paid or not), preferably in an area of personal interest (in this case, the local art scene). By accident, I stumbled across a local art gallery looking for unpaid interns and I’ve been working there ever since. What started out as resume building, turned into friends with invaluable information and fantastic energy. With those two things alone, I was able to harness the confidence to start actively freelancing as a Web designer.

I’m fortunate enough to have purchased the software I needed for graphic and Web design with money I had received as graduation gifts. But even if I hadn’t, Atlanta is knee deep in arts organizations created for the purpose of supporting local artists with funding or providing them with affordable studio space.

My point is… everything I need I can get. It might take some digging; it might take some time and some networking. But, one way or another, I’m going to make it. Is money constantly a concern? Yes, it still is. Will it keep me from making my ideas a reality? No, I won’t let it. 

The journey to this point felt long, and straight up, it was hard. It’s still hard. Not to mention, I’m a stresser by nature. But here’s why I’m not stressing today: I realized money can easily become a crutch. For me, having money meant I wouldn’t hit the ground running. In fact, I have done this without fail. Only when the fire was beneath me did I pull through. But now that I’m working on several projects that I’m passionate about,* I’m in hyper-drive because I want to be, and I’m starting to see positive results. Now, when money comes in, I have a clearer sense of where to put it business-wise (obviously, my income goes to bills first).

So, if you don’t have money, if you are stuck in a rut, if you have been waiting for the right time to start a business, or if you don’t feel like you’re ready, the time to act is now. Always now. Starting somewhere will take you to where you’re headed.

“If you want to put yourself on the map, publish your own map.” -Ashleigh Brilliant

 
*Once these have officially launched, I’ll be sure to fill you in!
Leave a Reply

